Home | Images

Prev | Index | Next
1968-77 India. State boundaries

Photo credit:


States and Union Territories during the smallpox eradication programme.

Several states changed names during the programme. Madras became Tamil Nadu in 1969. Mysore became Karnataka in 1973. The North-East Frontier Agency became the Union Territory of Arunachal Pradesh in 1972. Sikkim became a state in 1975. During the program, Bihar included what is now the state of Jharkand.