logo Home Big Red Book Memoirs & More Resources About
DA Henderson Archive: Honors & Awards

United States

The eradication of poliomyelitis
Year Sponsor Award Notes
2002 Office of the President Presidential Medal of Freedom
1986 Office of the President National Medal of Science
1978 National Academy of Sciences Public Welfare Medal
2015 National Foundation for Infectious Diseases Dr. Charles Mérieux Award for Achievement in Vaccinology and Immunology
2011 National Institute of Social Sciences Gold Medal
2010 Weills Cornell Medicine, Cornell University B.H. Keane Medal
2008 State University of New York (Downstate) Ailanthus Award
2007 University of California, Berkeley School of Public Health International Hero Award
2006 Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science Visiting Professor
2006 Midwestern Research Institute Trustee Citation
2005 University of Rochester School of Medicine Hutchison Medal for Distinguished Public Service
2004 American Council on Science and Health Award for Distinguished Achievement
2003 National Institutes of Health Alumni Association Public Service Award
2003 University of Rochester School of Medicine Distinguished Alumnus Award
2003 Brown University, Center for Biodefense September Eleventh Award
2003 American Association of Retired Persons (AARP) The 50 Most Innovative Americans over 50
2002 Infectious Diseases Society of America Joseph Smadel Medal
2002 University of Rochester School of Medicine Arthur Kornberg Research Award
2002 The Johns Hopkins University, School of Medicine Dean's Medal Special Recognition Award
2002 Clan Henderson Society Order of the Chief
2001 New York Academy of Medicine Sylvia and Herbert Berger Award
2000 The Annapolis Center for Science-Based Public Policy Science Award
1999 Columbia University, School of Public Health Frank Calderone Prize Bioterrorism: myths and realities; Commemoraitve booklet
1999 University of Kansas Takeru Higuchi Memorial Award
1998 The Johns Hopkins University, School of Medicine Visiting Professor
1996 Infectious Diseases Society of America Society Citation
1995 New York Academy of Medicine John Stearns Award
1994 Albert B. Sabin Vaccine Foundation 1st Sabin Gold Medal
1993 American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene Walter Reed Medal
1993 Rotary International Paul Harris Fellow
1993 City of Durham, North Carolina City of Medicine Award
1993 Award for Leadership in International Health National Council for International Health
1992 American College of Preventive Medicine Special Recognition Award
1992 Ronald McDonald Children’s Charities Award of Excellence
1992 U.S. Public Health Service Surgeon General’s Medallion
1992 The Johns Hopkins University Woodrow Wilson Award for Distinguished Government Service
1992 The Johns Hopkins University, Center for Alternatives to Animal Testing Founder’s Award
1992 Special Recognition Award American College of Preventive Medicine
1991 John R. Hogness Award Assoc of Academic Health Centers Academic health centers and the health of the nation
1991 American College of Epidemiology Abraham Lilienfeld Award
1990 Governor's Salute to Excellence Governor of Maryland
1990 Certification of Appreciation US Agency for International Development
1990 Ohio Foundation of Independent Colleges Hall of Fame
1990 Vanderbilt University School of Medicine Medal
1986 Charles A. Dana Foundation Award for Pioneering Achievements in Health
1986 U.S. General Accounting Office Comptroller General’s Special Recognition
1986 Alumni Hall of Fame Lakewood [OH] High School Alumni Assoc
1985 North Carolina Educational, Historical, and Scientific Foundation Albert Schweitzer International Prize for Medicine Acceptance speech
1984 Michigan State University Walter F. Patenge Medal of Public Service
1982 The Johns Hopkins University Distinguished Alumnus Award
1980 Delta Omega Honorary Public Health Society Outstanding Alumnus Award
1979 Blue Cross-Blue Shield 50th Anniversary Distinguished Service Award * Prevention and public health
1979 U.S. Association for the United Nations Joseph C. Wilson Award for Achievement and Promise in International Affairs First eradication of a human disease
1978 American College of Physicians James D. Bruce Memorial Award
1976 U.S. Public Health Service Distinguished Service Medal
1975 American Public Health Association Rosenhaus International Award
1966 U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Sustained Superior Performance Award
1964 U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Superior Service Award
1963 U.S. Public Health Service Commendation Medal
1954 Cushing Prize in the History of Medicine Univ of Rochester School of Medicine Epidemic cholera: Rochester 1832